Aside

Today I wanted …

3 Feb

Today I wanted to continue with my background and life in Barrackville, WV, but I am continually bombarded and haunted by the rhetoric concerning the current President of the United States, Barack Obama.  I grew up in West Virginia during the 1950’s and 60’s when racial discrimination and segregation were still prevalent.  I lived over the railroad tracks, literally on the wrong side of town.  The railroad tracks and the bridge at Maple Point were the dividing line.  Blacks could not live south of the that point.  But things have changed.  But have they, really!

When I stepped into the voting booth in November 2008, I was so excited that I showed up at the voting precinct at least one hour before it opened.  This was the first time that I could vote for a black man for President of the United States and he had a real chance of winning.  I even took my daughter, Jessica, with me to let her know how important this was and the historical significance of this day.  I did not vote for only myself, but for my Father Jesse, my Grandmothers Nettie and Eloise, my aunt Alberta Walton and all of my past relatives too numerous to name.  That was a glorious day!

Even though Barack Obama was elected President of the United States of America, the rules of American Society have not changed. Yes, Barack Obama is the President of the United States of America, but some of the same rules apply today as they did during the days of my youth.  Face it, White people still run this country and people of color still march by most of their orders.  My father taught me from the beginning that a Black man must achieve at a higher standard than a white man to even be considered close to the level of the white man.  Barack Obama, to his own detriment, is an overachiever.  He rose to a level that very few white men will achieve.  Think about it!  He is at a level that only God Almighty himself could have gotten him.  And white people are mad, pissed, upset and ready to do whatever to get him out of office.  They must be thinking,” We just had these people in chains less than 200 years ago and now one of them is the President of the United States, the most powerful office in the World!  Sitting in the same seat as George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Samuel Adams, Franklin Delano Roosevelt and others!  The back rooms and board rooms of America have been poised since day one of the Obama Administration to oust him in any way possible.  They have called him names, accused him of not being a citizen of this country and now the so called Black leaders of this country are attacking him.  They are calling him on the carpet!  Does this sound like the 1850’s pitting one black against another?  President Obama has enough hate coming from the Conservative Right and now his own people are turning on him.  And the Tea Party. Any person of color near these folks should be ashamed.  Have we lost sight of where we came from.  Of course not! It took almost 400 years to get to the White House.  I am certain that it will take more than one term  to begin to turn around the many years of struggle our people have faced.  Let’s stand united behind Barack Obama.  I know that if any of the Conservative Right had faced what our President has faced during his 50 years, they would have given up.  I am proud of President Obama.  Speaking of being proud, I would love for my daughter to grow up and be a strong black woman like First Lady Michelle Obama.  If large numbers of our children would grow up to be like Barack and Michelle, we could turn this country upside down. Let’s stand together!  I know we can make it to the “Promised Land.”

Leave a Reply

